Exciting Announcement: Apexart Franchise Exhibition Program

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 8.08.53 PMImage from the Apexart Website

I am so excited to announce that I am a finalist for the Apexart Franchise Exhibition Program! My proposal was ranked 1st out of 384 proposals submitted by people from 61 different countries evaluated by 205 jurors. Next year, I will be creating an exhibition in Japan! It will be on view June 30 – July 28, 2018. I will also be composing an essay to be published and also presenting public programming along with the exhibition.

This program is unique because the applicants are completely anonymous, no one’s past experience or networking taken into account. It is only based off your idea and writing. I am so thankful and excited for this amazing opportunity!

This idea came to me a few months back when I entered into a conversation between a few of my colleagues who are from different areas of Asia. They were talking about how mental illness is not recognized and how severe the stigma is. The idea was just so striking to me, and I was very moved. I decided then the best way that I could help facilitate this conversation, as with all conversations, is through art.

My proposal is to execute and exhibition in Japan that brings together artists and their works from both Eastern and Western contexts who have experience with issues surrounding mental health. The exhibition is set in Japan due the severe cultural stigma against mental illness and extremely high suicide rate. The aim is to spark cross-cultural conversation surrounding mental health and chip away at the taboos surrounding the subject through the platform of art.

I am overwhelmingly grateful and absolutely excited to realize this project!

Here is a link to the full announcement:
https://apexart.org/fep2017/results.php

Here is a link to the page with an abbreviated version of my proposal:
http://apexart.org/exhibitions/mckenzie.php

And here is a link to the rankings:
https://apexart.org/fep2017/ranking.php

E-flux Announcement:
http://www.e-flux.com/announcements/61961/2017-18-franchise-exhibition-program/

 

Leave a Reply

